Bima Regency


4.389 Km
514,000 Million (2020)
111 people per sq Km (2019)
Min. Wage Rate:
IDR 2.229.880 (2020)
Hj. Indah Dhamayanti Putri
Capital City:
18 Districs and 191 Villages

Bima Regency (2023)
  • Total Investment
  • IDR. 17.340.018.698
  • Domestic Investment:
    IDR. 12.376.077.921
    Foreign Investment:
    IDR. 4.963.940.777



Bima Regency was established on July 5, 1640 AD, when Sultan Abdul Kahir (La Kai) was crowned Sultan Bima I who ran a government based on Islamic Sharia. This event is then designated as Bima's Anniversary which is commemorated every year. Archaeological historical evidences found in Bima Regency such as Wadu Pa'a, Wadu Nocu, Wadu Tunti ("stone with writing") in Dusun Padende, District Donggo, show that this area has long been inhabited by humans. In the history of culture, the population of Indonesia is divided into ancient Malay and new Malays. Likewise with the residents who inhabit the Bima Regency, those who call themselves Dou Mbojo, Dou Donggo who inhabit the coastal areas. Besides the indigenous population, there are also immigrants who come from South Sulawesi, Java, Madura, Kalimantan, East Nusa Tenggara and Maluku.

Bima Kingdom

The former Bima kingdom was divided into small groups, each led by Ncuhi. There are five Ncuhi who control five regions, namely:

·      Ncuhi Dara, Holds the power of the central Bima region

·      Ncuhi Parewa, holds the power of the South Bima region

·      Ncuhi Padolo, holds the power of the West Bima region

·      Ncuhi Banggapupa, holds the power of the North Bima region

·      Ncuhi Dorowani, holds the power of the East Bima region

The five Ncuhi coexist peacefully, respect each other and always hold deliberations to reach a consensus when there is something that concerns common interests. Of the five Ncuhi who acted as leaders of the other Ncuhi was Ncuhi Dara. In the following days, these Ncuhi were united by a messenger who came from Java. According to the legend that is believed from generation to generation by the Bima community, the forerunner of the Bima Kingdom was Maharaja Pandu Dewata who had 5 sons, namely:

·      Darmawangsa

·      The Bima

·      The Arjuna

·      The Kula

·      The God

One of the five siblings, Sang Bima, sailed to the east and landed on a small island to the north of the Sanggar sub-district called Satonda. The Bima is what unites the five Ncuhi in one kingdom, namely the Bima Kingdom and Sang Bima as the first king with the title Sangaji. Since then Bima became a kingdom based on Hadat and at that time the Hadat of Bima Kingdom was established to apply to all people without exception. This hadat was valid continuously and underwent changes during the reign of king Ma Wa'a Bilmana. After instilling the basic principles of government based on Hadat, Sang Bima left the Bima Kingdom to the east, the throne was then handed over to Ncuhi Dara until the son of Bima named Indra Zamrud as the heir to the throne came back to Bima in the 14-15 AD century.

Over time, Bima Regency has also experienced developments in a more advanced direction. With the broad and responsible autonomy powers granted by the central government in the framework of regional autonomy as mandated in Law No.22 of 1999 and revised into Law No.33 of 2004, Bima Regency has utilized this authority by continuing to explore potentials. region, both the potential for human resources and natural resources so that they can be optimally utilized to accelerate regional growth and improve community welfare.

Blood relations between Bima, Bugis and Makassar

The kinship and kinship relations that existed during the period 1625–1819 (194 years) were severed to this day. The kinship relationship between the two major sultanates in Eastern Indonesia, namely the Sultanate of Gowa and the Sultanate of Bima, was established until its 7th generation. This relationship is a cross-marriage between the Crown Prince of the Bima Sultanate and the Crown Princess of the Gowa Sultanate, which extends to the 6th derivative, while the VII is the marriage of the Crown Prince of the Bima Sultanate and the Crown Prince of the Gowa Sultanate.